Students of the month were recognized at the Dec. 7 meeting of the school board.

ELKLAND — Northern Tioga School Board members voted to keep Julie Preston as president of the school board at the meeting on Dec. 7. Kim Strausser was voted as vice president.

Students of the month for December were recognized at the meeting. Those students included: Caleb Coots, Williamson High School; Robert Austin, Williamson Middle School; Chris Harris, Cowanesque Valley High School; Hannah Butkiewicz, Cowanesque Valley Middle School; Sydney Dean, R.B. Walter Elementary School; Louella Povadora, Clark Wood Elementary and Graham Hess, Westfield Area Elementary School.

Board members heard from Kim Stank, a local auditor, who reviewed their audit report for July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017. Stank said it was a good audit, noting that business manager Wanda Erb and the business office were thorough and did a good job.

Board members accepted the resignation from business manager Wanda Erb from her position effective June 30, 2018. Superintendent Dr. Diana Barnes thanked Erb for her years of service to the district. Erb thanked the board for their support.

The 2018-2019 budget resolution was approved unanimously. It states that the tax rate will be increased at a rate at or below the adjusted Act 1 Index. which is 3.5 percent or a maximum increase of .6048 mills.

The next school board meeting is Jan. 8 at 7 p.m. in the administration building in Elkland. The next work session is Jan. 22 at 6 p.m. For more information or meeting minutes, go to www.ntiogasd.org.