The 2020 Star Hose Company #1 annual banquet was held at the Star Hose Banquet Room in Port Allegany. The welcome was given by Andrew Johnson who served as master of ceremonies. After remembering the deceased members with a moment of silence and an Invocation offered by Chaplain Matthew Guncheon, dinner was served by members of the Eldred and Roulette Fire Departments. The dinner was catered by Fox’s.

Chief of the department, Alex Johnson, introduced the officers including Deputy Chief Michael Johnson, Assistant Chief Kevin Ernst, Captains Andrew Johnson and Nathan Kio, Fire Police Captain Denny Williams and Lieutenant Nancy Hardes. Business officers are President Whitey Brundage replacing Nathan Kio, who took a firefighting job in Erie, Financial Secretary Mike Johnson, Treasurer Tom Johnson and Secretary Nancy Hardes.

Fire Auxiliary President Janann Crawford recognized her group and presented awards to Deb Eaton and herself, for 10 years of service; Janet Lilly and Karen Bowers for 15 years of service; and said Jackie Songer (who was not present) will receive an award for 45 years of service.

Crawford also presented a check to Chief Johnson and President Brundage airmarked to purchase new jaws of life for the department.

Chief Johnson presented one-year awards to Zach Williams, Ashton Rethmel, Izak Bidwell, Kendra McGarvey-Smoker, Matt Guncehon and Cameron Prescott for one year of service; Curtis Black, 5 years; Kasandra Goodrich, 10 years; Chuckie Zimmerman, 15 years; Alex Johnson and Andrew Johnson, 20 years; Barry Daugherty, 25 years; Mike Johnson, Ruth Johnson and Sue Rankin for 30 years; and Jim Rankin, Jr. for 45 years.

The Sigfred G. “Sig” Anderson Training Award was presented to Andrew Johnson for his dedication to training in the spirit embodied by Sig Anderson. This is the third year in a row Andrew earned this award.

Alex Johnson and Andrew Johnson both became life members after 20 years of active service to the Port Allegany Fire Department.

Unit Citations were presented to Squad 3 members Captain Andrew Johnson, Captain Nathan Kio, FF Whitey Brundage and FF Curtis Black; Rescue 3 — FF Caleb Benson, FF Jacob Safford and FF Travis Coopersmith; Tanker 3 members FF Terry Smith and FF Tyler Shaffer and to Engine 3 including Chief Alex Johnson, FF Tom Johnson, FF Rod Johnson, FF Michael Hill — Nelson and FF Hunter Lathrop for Incident Number 19-196, September 25, 2019, when Station 3 was dispatched to Route 6 East for a vehicle on fire with a person trapped. Units arrived on scene to find an SUV into a sheer rock wall with one patient entangled in the vehicle. Squad 3 along with other units from Station 3 and Department 46 worked to hold the fuel-fed fire at bay while using hydraulic rescue tools to remove the trapped victim. Without any doubt, their actions contributed to saving the life of this patient.

A letter of commendation was placed in the personnel files of the crew of Engine 3 — Dax Hobbs, Jacob Safford, Tyler Shaffer, Fred Roys and Andrew Johnson who saved the lives of six dogs from a house fire on December 23, 2019.

Members of the banquet committee were Jacob Safford, Caleb Benson and Nathan Kio. Music was provided by DJ Rich Tanner.