The Port Allegany wrestling team won a pair of dual meets last week, staying in a three-way tie at the top of the Allegheny Mountain League standings with Johnsonburg and Kane. The Gators notched a 69-12 victory at Sheffield on Jan. 14, then downed Class AAA St. Marys 44-33 in a non-league contest at Smethport to run their record to 8-2 (3-0 AML) going into Thursday night’s showdown at Johnsonburg (15-3).

Port was slated to head south to Clearfield for the Bison Duals last Saturday, but the trip was canceled due to poor weather conditions.

Nine Gator matmen went unbeaten for the week, led by two pins apiece from Braedon Johnson (14-4) and Isaiah Caden (19-5) and a pin and a technical fall from Eli Petruzzi (16-2). Thursday’s match against the Dutch served as the final appearance in the Hubber gym by senior Bryent Johnson, who picked up his 80th career victory to move to 15-1 this year.

Although Kane (9-0) still boasts a perfect team mark, the Gators-Rams meeting should go a long way toward determining this year’s AML champion, with Port entering the match with 10 regionally-ranked wrestlers to the Rams’ nine.

Next week: Cameron County, Jan. 30, District 9 Class AA Team Championships Jan. 30 (if necessary)-Feb. 1.

At Sheffield, Jan. 14:

Port Allegany 69, Sheffield 12

132: Isaiah Caden (PA) 5:51 Caden Smead; 138: Eli Petruzzi (PA) 0:58 Cooper Traister; 145: Caleb Furgeson (PA) 2:28 Kevin Marfink; 152: Montgomery Tanner (PA) 7-0 Landon Mead; 160: Trey Ayers (PA) forfeit; 170: Isaak Baumgarner (PA) inj. def. Jake Davidson; 182: Ethan Finch (S) 2:53 Dalton Distrola; 195: Derek Kallenborn (PA) 1:19 Damien Deal; 220: Josh Rees (PA) 1:15 Stephen Koper; 285: Danah Campbell (S) 0:41 Hunter Tanner; 106: Chase Weimer (PA) 2:43 Collin Brown; 113: Bryent Johnson (PA) 2:44 AJ Barnes; 120: Scott Fuller (PA) 1:06 Marco Avalos; 126: Braedon Johnson (PA) 2:10 Chris Gossert.

At Smethport, Jan. 16;

Port Allegany 44, St. Marys 33

113: Bryent Johnson (PA) forfeit; 120: Scott Fuller (PA) forfeit; 126: Braedon Johnson (PA) 2:14 Connor Gausman; 132: Isaiah Caden (PA) 4:36 Isaac Marche; 138: Logan Mosier (SM) 3-2 Caleb Furgeson; 145: Eli Petruzzi (PA) 15-3 Gregory Tettis; 152: Montgomery Tanner (PA) 8-0 Kaden Snelick; 160: Nick Crisp (SM) 1:50 Trey Ayers; 170: Isaak Baumgarner (PA) 3:35 Raivis Bobby; 182: Waylon Wehler (SM) 4:19 Dalton Distrola; 195: Jeremy Garthwaite (SM) 1:24 Derek Kallenborn; 220: Alex Lukaschunis (SM) 1:42 Josh Rees; 285: Owen Roboski (PA) forfeit; 106: Tanner Quackenbush (SM) forfeit.