Sheriff Tom Young

Sheriff Tom Young (second from right), who will retire at the end of his term in office, was awarded the Distinguished Police Service Award by the American Police Hall of Fame. The award was the brainchild of Dallas Herbert (center) on behalf of the county, represented by (back, from left) Commissioners Roger Bunn, Mark Hamilton and Erick Coolidge.

The sign on the courthouse entrance announced the sheriff’s office would be closed at 10 a.m., the same time as the county commissioner meeting on Nov. 14.

Vickie Young, wife of Sheriff Tom Young slipped into the conference room and was soon spotted by Commissioner Erick Coolidge. He waved her over and she left the room. A few minutes later, the sheriff arrived and took a seat next to the door in the back of the room.

The meeting opened and Commissioner Mark Hamilton, who chairs the meeting, announced there were some items not on the agenda.

That’s when Dallas Herbert and Vickie Young returned to the room.

Herbert explained that about two months ago he approached Coolidge to discuss the sheriff’s tenure, his contributions to not only the county, but also local law enforcement. He applied, with the county’s support and endorsement, to have Sheriff Young awarded the Distinguished Police Service Award.

Herbert, who now works at Cecil College’s Department of Public Safety, drove five hours to make the presentation.

“You are a great leader; I know that personally,” said Herbert. “He never once asked me to do something he wasn’t willing to do himself. Often, he would just do it himself.”

By that time, corrections officers, sheriff’s deputies and courthouse administrators had filled the doorway behind Young. Many of those administrators and county officials had written letters of support for the award.

“You set an admirable standard for all the officers to follow,” said Coolidge.

Young accepted the plaque and a medal to a standing ovation.

“I’m humbled. I truly am humbled. Thank you so much,” was all he said before leaving the conference room to accept congratulations from his co-workers in the hallway.

In other business, the board:

• Reappointed Marianne Bishop and Carl Koch to the Tioga County Soil Conservation District board of directors for a four-year term expiring Dec. 31, 2021.

• Announced that the Chief Assessor Deb Crawford certified the county/municipal tax base for tax year 2018 at $1,848,096,228 taxable value.

Trending Food Videos